About the Council

Board of Directors

At the AGM on 18 May 2016, the tenure of the Council for Work and Health Board Directors for 2016 was noted as follows:

Diana Kloss May 2013 - May 2016 (Chair)

(Diana Kloss has agreed to continue until a new Chair is found)

Tom Stewart May 2016 - May 2019 (Deputy Chair)

Nattasha Freeman May 2015 - May 2018

Joanna Wilde May 2015 - May 2018

Nattasha Freeman May 2015 - May 2018

Jan Vickery May 2015 - May 2018

Joy Reymond May 2016 - May 2019

John Pilkington May 2016 - May 2019

Robin Cordell  May 2016 - May 2019

No election was required at the AGM in May 2017.

In March 2008, Dame Carol Black published “Working for a healthier tomorrow”, her review of the health of the working age population.

The review highlighted the need for “forward thinking professional leadership” and said:

“Achieving a comprehensive service for the future requires much more than simply integration. It demands leadership from the professions to seize this opportunity and to make the specialty of occupational health relevant to present-day needs. It can only be done by expanding the remit of occupational health to include all those of working age, and working with other specialities – both medical and non-medical – in order to achieve this."

The Government’s response to the review was published in November 2008 and it pledged to support “a representative group of professional bodies who plan to create a co-ordinating Council for Occupational Health. This will provide leadership and develop a common purpose for all the relevant professionals working to improve the health of the working population.”

The Government response identified the aims of this multi-disciplinary representative group of professional bodies as:

  • to explore methods of joint working, including co-ordination of training and competency; and
  • develop evidence-based guidelines and standards.

This ensures that each professional group working to improve the health of the working population adopts these aims and works consistently to agreed evidence-based advice on key issues.

The Council will facilitate the sharing of skills and expertise by gaining consensus and agreement across the professions and practitioner communities for core content for education and training in health, work and wellbeing issues.

The embryonic Council first met in October 2008 and since then has expanded to incorporate representatives of all healthcare professionals involved in the delivery of health and wellbeing services. In October 2009 an independent Chair was appointed to lead its activities and the members agreed to rename it the Council for Work and Health.

Vision, Mission and Strategy Document - November 2012

Business Plan - May 2014

On 17 January 2013, the Council for Work and Health registered as a not for profit company limited by guarantee.  Following elections in March 2013, the Council elected Christina Butterworth as Deputy Chair, and five directors Olivia Carlton, Tom Stewart, Hilary Todd, Natalie Beswetherick and Nattasha Freeman.  The board invited Diana Kloss to serve as Chair. 

March 2015 - the Council for Work and Health created a promotional leaflet.  Copy attached here.

Return to Top

Latest News

Honorary President of the Council for Work and Health

The Council for Work and Health is delighted to announce that Professor Diana Kloss has been appointed as Honorary President of The Council for Work and Health.

Read more

Contact Us

If you wish to contact the council please email anna@forumconferences.com